Skip to main content

数字病理学

什么是数字病理学?

数字病理学是将病理学信息(包括玻片和数据)的采集、管理、共享和解读结合在数字环境中。 当用扫描设备捕获玻片时,将创建数字玻片,以提供高分辨率数字图像,从而可在计算机屏幕或移动设备上查看。

 

将 Knowledge Pathway 更新直接发送到您的收件箱。
If you have viewed this educational webinar, training or tutorial on Knowledge Pathway and would like to apply for continuing education credits with your certifying organization, please download the form to assist you in adding self-reported educational credits to your transcript.
Image
Digital Pathology
图 1: 随时间推移数字病理学的发展。

利用高通量、自动化数字病理学扫描仪, 可以在明视野或荧光条件下,在与显微镜相当的放大倍数下捕获整张玻片。 可以使用专门的数字病理学软件应用程序在网络上共享数字玻片。 自动图像分析工具也可用于协助解读和定量组织切片内的生物标志物表达情况。

数字病理学的历史可以回溯到 100 多年前,当时人们首次使用专门设备将显微镜上观察到的图像捕获到照相底片上。 早在大约 50 年前就出现了远程病理学的概念——向远程位置传输显微图像。 然而,直到过去十年,病理学才开始出现真正的数字化转换,即从模拟环境到电子环境的转换。

全视野数字化玻片 (WSI) 技术的快速进展以及软件应用程序、LIS/LIMS 接口和高速网络的进展,已将数字病理学完全融入病理学工作流程中。

数字病理学使病理学家能够快速和远程参与、评估和协作,具有高透明度和一致性,从而提高效率和生产力。 数字病理学的未来最终可能包括增强的转化研究、计算机辅助诊断 (CAD) 和个体化医疗。

数字病理学有哪些益处?

玻片不便挪动到其他地方,也没有充分理由挪动。 病理学从采集的组织开始。 玻片是必需的,即使它们稍后转移到数字扫描中也是如此。 但是当今的病理学概念超出组织或扫描范畴。 这一切都关乎提高质量、生产力等方面。

考虑当今病理学正在发生的变化:

  • 病理学家人力短缺,退休病理学家比进入该领域的新人更多
  • 数字技术的应用不断增多,从而提高质量并促进创新

当今的病理学需要新方法。 当病理学家完全停止采用数字病理学时,他们就错过了玻片无法实现的益处。

数字病理学可以提供单用玻片无法实现的益处。 可以了解数字病理学相对于单用显微镜的以下诸多优势。

 

数字病理学能够以有意义的方式改善质量:

Image
Digital Pathology

改进分析:

  • 用于分析玻片的算法客观、准确、快于显微镜检查
  • 快速访问既往病例
  • 数据存储允许进行长期预测分析

减少误差:

  • 避免破损
  • 条形码降低错误识别风险

更好的视图:

  • 提供实时缩放和多角度视图
  • 能够测量多个感兴趣区域 (AOI)
  • 可对玻片进行批量注释
  • 提供数据和注释的面板视图

数字病理学的最大优势之一是它在短期和长期内提高生产力的多种方式:

Image
Digital Pathology

改进工作流程

  • 促进合作
  • 集中存储,可以通过精简工作流程轻松访问
  • 一些工作不再需要外包
  • 允许自动化、弹性工作安排和远程访问

缩短结果回报时间:

  • 更快访问存档的数字玻片
  • 减少检索、数据匹配和组织的时间
  • 与手动审查相比,可以加快对样本的访问并改善结果回报时间,尤其是复杂病例

更多创新:

  • 大数据让病理学家变得更加专业
  • 允许将医疗实践延伸至更广泛地域
  • 提供更好的教学和培训工具

“玻片用起来很好”,其内在含义是病理学家认为不值得在数字解决方案上投资。 但是,他们通常不考虑数字化的长期成本效益,例如:

  • 无需标本递送服务
  • 可以加快工作流程
  • 减少同行评审奔波之苦
  • 通过扩展医疗实践地域,开启新的业务机会
  • 避免加班

数字病理学的 7 个步骤

采用数字病理学的障碍

 

“显微镜用起来不错。”

“我们的信息系统无法与其他系统整合。”

“变革很难。”

这些是病理学家关于数字病理学的一些顾虑。 但是,当他们更多地了解数字病理学后,病理学家们发现,他们对于数字化的恐惧正在妨碍他们从中获得更大益处。 他们还发现,旧方法完全无法与当今的数字解决方案抗衡。

即使病理学家意识到数字方法可以提供更快的速度、更高的准确性、更高的效率和协作水平,这种变革似乎也令人怯步。

作为拥有最广泛采用的数字病理学解决方案的行业领导者,我们知道全面采用数字病理学所面临的挑战。

拥抱数字病理学的过程可以使这个机构发生大的转变。因此,了解一些步骤以及如何开始非常重要。

Image
Digital Pathology
步骤 关键组成部分
1. 提倡数字病理学
  • 选择执行发起人和病理学家
  • 理解数字病理学的益处
  • 阅读个案研究并研究操作规范
  • 调查面临的障碍和高级需求
  • 通过可视化管理创建新工作流程
  • 编制业务案例
  • 寻求认同,获得反馈
2. 确定需求和目标
  • 绘制详细的新工作流程
  • 制定需求列表,包括设备、流程、团队/角色
  • 进行概念验证试验
3. 确定基础设施和实验室信息系统 (LIS) 需求
  • 选择一位项目技术主管并确保获得 IT 部门认同
  • 确定网络、存储和安全需求
  • 比较工具要求、预算和时间表
  • 对短期和长期事项进行优先排序
4. 构建工作流程
  • 为每个数字转换阶段撰写工作说明(图像采集、分析前、图像管理和分析)
5. 配置和培训
  • 在全面采用之前,使用数字和非数字两种流程。 比较、分析和优化数字工作流程
  • 为所有地点的利益相关者提供午餐和学习机会、点对点沟通、教程以及其他培训方法
  • 召开进展状态会议,确定进度和差距
  • 估计完全转换所需时间
6. 上线
  • 将手动流程完全转换为数字流程
  • 充分利用完全转换的益处
7. 分析和扩展应用
  • 审查速度、工作量和成本改进
  • 衡量加班和玻片损坏减少的情况
  • 调查客户满意度
  • 使用更多可用数据来增进协作
  • 从高级数据分析获得新见解
  • 分析流程以查找不足。 与供应商协作升级和改进。

数字病理学和免疫组织化学的未来趋势是什么?

Image
Aperio Versa Easy to US

我们有机会在将来使用数字病理学对新兴伴随诊断和新型治疗诊断进行定量分析。 随着难以通过人眼识别的检测方法的问世(例如在多个标志物中或在多个细胞区室中呈弥漫性染色特征的标志物中,只有一种标志物有临床意义),这个机会可能会变得尤为重要。

此类检测方法的复杂性越来越高,推动了对采用先进高通量图像采集技术(明视野、荧光或多谱)联合模式识别的数字病理学解决方案的开发,以便从形态学上识别相关组织类型和单个细胞区室,进而能够定量 (IHC) 染色强度。

这促进了数字病理学系统的问世,其能够通过比较样本分析输出结果与来自临床数据的标准曲线来提供临床相关诊断或预后评分。 实际上,数字病理学的很多未利用的潜能可能是:通过将 IHC 数据和图像与诸如 FACS 或 MALDI-TOF 等其他系统相结合,从而获得诊断或预后评分,以便在临床相关群组中实现更为离散的患者分层。 这一过程并非要取代 IHC,新的分子检测以及数字病理学系统的整合将来可提供补充诊断工具。

数字病理学正在促进教育改革

教育行业是最早采用数字病理学的行业之一,已在从本科生和研究生教育到持续职业发展 (CPD) 和外部质量保证 (EQA) 的整个组织病理学范畴内应用。

使用光学显微镜和玻片的传统教育面临许多挑战,包括获取玻片问题以及课程内容多样,这些问题都可以通过使用数字病理学来克服。 其中包括:

  • 课程材料的标准化: 使用数字病理学,每名学习者都将看到完全相同的内容,而不是来自同一组织块的相似玻片,后者可能会,也可能不会显示相同的形态和生物标志物表达情况。 内容标准化可确保每位学习者拥有相同的学习机会和教学质量。 此外,数字病理学有助于将罕见病例纳入课程材料,因为对于一个标准班来说,传统教学需要多张玻片,现在只需一张玻片的数字拷贝即可。
  • 改善可及性: 数字病理学有助于在实验室外以及传统教学时间之外更大程度地访问组织和基于玻片的材料。 用户可使用个人计算机、平板电脑或智能手机设备通过互联网在标准网络浏览器上访问数字课程内容,使他们能够随时随地查看玻片。 通过数字病理学来支持 CPD 和 EQA 方案有助于缩短循环结果回报时间和减少成本,因为不再需要将玻片从一个物理地点运送到另一个物理地点,而是多个地点可同时高效共享。
  • 改进学习: 组织病理学教育从物理环境到数字化环境的转变,提供了优于传统光学显微镜和玻片教学方法的诸多益处。 用户可同时查看多个数字玻片,将其逐个对齐,以改进不同组织切片和免疫组织化学 (IHC) 标志物之间的比较(图 6)。
Image
digital-pathology
图 6: 数字病理学可以同时查看多个数字玻片,将其逐个对齐,以改进不同组织切片和 IHC 标志物之间的比较。

教育工作者可以对细胞和亚细胞级别的重要感兴趣区域进行标注,但如果使用玻片,则无法容易地做到这一点(图 7)。 通过专业的数字病理学教育软件应用程序,可以将问题和辅导嵌入数字玻片,提供背景信息并直接链接到问题中引用的组织或细胞特征。

Image
Digital-Pathology-Figure-7
图 7: 教育工作者经常使用数字玻片进行组织学培训。 使用数字玻片和软件应用程序,可以标注重要的感兴趣区域。

Leica Biosystems Knowledge Pathway content is subject to the Leica Biosystems website terms of use, available at: Legal Notice. The content, including webinars, training presentations and related materials is intended to provide general information regarding particular subjects of interest to health care professionals and is not intended to be, and should not be construed as, medical, regulatory or legal advice. The views and opinions expressed in any third-party content reflect the personal views and opinions of the speaker(s)/author(s) and do not necessarily represent or reflect the views or opinions of Leica Biosystems, its employees or agents. Any links contained in the content which provides access to third party resources or content is provided for convenience only.

For the use of any product, the applicable product documentation, including information guides, inserts and operation manuals should be consulted.

Copyright © 2022 Leica Biosystems division of Leica Microsystems, Inc. and its Leica Biosystems affiliates. All rights reserved. LEICA and the Leica Logo are registered trademarks of Leica Microsystems IR GmbH.

About the presenters

Sherri Heffner, CT ASCP

Sherri’ Heffner, CT(ASCP), has held clinical and research laboratory positions at private and academic institutions and sales/marketing positions with leading laboratory and technology companies, including Aperio.

Dr. Colgan has over a decade of experience in the digital pathology sector and is focused on how this new and disruptive technology can be leveraged to provide real benefits in both the healthcare and research domains. Prior to working with Leica Biosystems, she came from a research background with a BSc in Biotechnology and a PhD in Vascular Biology from Dublin City University, Ireland.

Colin Doolan has over ten years' experience working with Digital Pathology software solutions for Education, Research and Healthcare markets. He received his BSc in Biotechnology from Dublin City University, Ireland.

Want us to feature your writing?
We are looking for more great writers to feature here. Send us a submission and we’ll be in touch!
Like what you see?
Get more Knowledge Pathway content delivered directly to your inbox. Unsubscribe at any time.

Menu
Warning! You won't be able to use the quotation basket until you enable cookies in your Web browser.
Warning! Your Web browser is no longer supported. Please upgrade to a modern browser.

Digital Pathology

What is Digital Pathology?

Digital pathology incorporates the acquisition, management, sharing and interpretation of pathology information — including slides and data — in a digital environment. Digital slides are created when glass slides are captured with a scanning device, to provide a high-resolution digital image that can be viewed on a computer screen or mobile device.

Get Knowledge Pathway updates delivered directly to your inbox.

Figure 1: Evolution of Digital Pathology over time.

Utilizing high-throughput, automated digital pathology scanners, it is possible to capture an entire glass slide, under bright field or fluorescent conditions, at a magnification comparable to a microscope. Digital slides can be shared over networks using specialized digital pathology software applications. Automated image analysis tools can also be applied to assist in the interpretation and quantification of biomarker expression within tissue sections.

The history of digital pathology goes back over 100 years, when specialized equipment was first used to capture images from a microscope onto photographic plates. The concept of telepathology — transmitting microscope images between remote locations — has been around for nearly 50 years. However, it is in the past decade that pathology has begun to undergo a true digital transformation, moving away from analog into an electronic environment.

The rapid progress of whole slide imaging (WSI) technology, along with advances in software applications, LIS / LIMS interfacing, and high-speed networking, have made it possible to fully integrate digital pathology into pathology workflows.

Digital pathology enables pathologists to engage, evaluate, and collaborate rapidly and remotely, with transparency and consistency, thus improving efficiency and productivity. The future of digital pathology could eventually encompass enhanced translational research, computer aided diagnosis (CAD) and personalized medicine.

What are the Benefits of Digital Pathology?

Glass slides aren’t going anywhere, and for good reason. Pathology starts with a collected tissue. Glass slides are necessary, even if they are later transferred to a digital scan. But today’s pathology goes beyond tissue or scans. It’s all about improving quality, productivity and more.

Consider the way today’s pathology is changing:

  • There is a workforce shortage of pathologists, with more pathologists retiring than those entering the field
  • Digital technology has increased in adoption, delivering improved quality and innovation

Today’s pathology needs new approaches. And when pathologists stop short of adopting digital pathology fully, they miss out on the benefits that cannot be achieved with glass slides.

Digital pathology offers benefits not easily achieved with glass slides alone. Take a look at the many advantages of digital pathology versus microscopy alone.

 

Digital pathology can improve quality in meaningful ways:

Improved Analysis:

  • Algorithms for analyzing slides are objective, accurate and quicker than microscopy
  • Rapid access to prior cases
  • Data Storage allows for long-term predictive analytics

Reduced Errors:

  • Eliminates breakage
  • Barcoding reduces risk of misidentification

Better Views:

  • Offers live zoomed and multiple angle views
  • Ability to measure multiple AOI
  • Allows for team annotation of slides
  • Provides a dashboard view of data and annotations

One of the biggest benefits of digital pathology is the many ways it improves productivity in the short and long term:

Improved Workflow

  • Fosters collaboration
  • Central storage enables easy access in streamlined workflow
  • Curbs trend toward outsourcing
  • Allows for automation, flex work schedules and remote access

Reduced Turnaround Times:

  • Faster access to archived digital slides
  • Reduces time retrieving, data matching and organizing
  • Speeds up access to samples and improves turnaround time versus manual reviews, especially in complex cases

More Innovation:

  • Big data allows pathologists to become more specialized
  • Allows practices to extend to broader geographies
  • Delivers better tools for teaching and training

“Glass slides work fine” is often a way of saying that pathologists can’t justify the investment in digital solutions. But often they don’t consider some of the long-term cost benefits of digitalization, such as:

  • It eliminates courier service
  • It speeds up workflow
  • Travel for peer reviews is reduced
  • New business opportunities are opened up through the ability to geographically extend the practice
  • Avoid the need for overtime

The 7 Steps to Digital Pathology

Barriers to Adoption of Digital Pathology

“There’s nothing wrong with the microscope.”

“Our Information Systems won’t integrate with other technology.”

“Change is hard.”

These are a few of the concerns pathologists have about digital pathology. But as they learn more, pathologists are finding that their apprehension about going digital is holding them back from reaping significant benefits. They are also discovering that old methods can’t compete against today’s digital solutions.

And even when pathologists realize that digital methods offer increased speed, accuracy, efficiency and collaboration, the evolution can seem daunting.

As industry leaders with the most widely adopted digital pathology solution, we know the challenges of full adoption.

The process of embracing digital pathology can transform an organization.So, it is important to know the steps and how to get started.

STEPS KEY COMPONENTS
1. Champion digital pathology
  • Choose both an executive sponsor and pathologist
  • Understand the benefits of digital pathology
  • Read case studies and research best practices
  • Survey barriers and high-level needs
  • Use visual management to create a new workflow
  • Compile the business case
  • Seek buy-in, get feedback
2. Define needs and goals
  • Map out a detailed new workflow
  • Initiate needs list including equipment, processes, teams/roles
  • Pilot a proof of concept test
3. Specify infrastructure and Laboratory Information Systems (LIS) needs
  • Select a project technology leader and ensure buy-in from IT
  • Determine networking, storage and security needs
  • Compare requirements to tools, budgets and timelines
  • Prioritize specifications for short and long term
4. Build workflow
  • Write a statement of work for each phase of digital conversion (image acquisition, pre-analytics, image management and analysis)
5. Configuration and training
  • Prior to full adoption, use both digital and non-digital processes. Compare, analyse and refine digital workflow
  • Offer lunch and learn, peer to peer, tutorial and other training methods for stakeholders in all locations
  • Hold on-going status meeting to determine progress and gaps
  • Recognize that full conversion takes time
6. Rollout
  • Fully convert manual processes to digital
  • Leverage benefits at full rollout volume
7. Analyze and expand applications
  • Review speed, volume, and cost improvements
  • Measure reductions in overtime and damaged slides
  • Survey customer satisfaction
  • Use more accessible data to increase collaboration
  • Gain new insights from advanced data analytics
  • Analyze the process to uncover insights. Collaborate with providers on upgrades and refinements.

What are the future trends for Digital Pathology and I.H.C.?

Particular opportunity exists for the potential future use of digital pathology for quantitative analysis of emerging companion diagnostics and novel theranostics. This opportunity may become especially relevant with the advent of assays which are difficult to discern with the human eye, such as multiplex, or markers which exhibit diffuse staining characteristics across multiple cellular compartments of which, for example, only one may be clinically relevant.

The increasing complexity of such assays is driving the development of digital pathology solutions with advanced high-throughput image capture (brightfield, fluorescent or multispectral) coupled with pattern recognition to morphologically identify relevant tissue types and individual cellular compartments followed by the ability to quantify (IHC) intensity of staining.

This is leading to the advent of digital pathology systems that can offer a clinically relevant diagnostic or prognostic score by comparing sample analysis output against a standard curve derived from clinical data. Indeed, much of the untapped potential of digital pathology may be in the potential ability to generate diagnostic or prognostic scores by combining IHC data and images with that of other modalities such as FACS or MALDI-TOF, in an effort to achieve more discrete patient stratification into clinically relevant groups. Rather than replacing IHC, new molecular tests and the integration of digital pathology may offer complementary diagnostic tools for the future.

Digital Pathology Has Already Helped Revolutionize Education

The education sector was one of the earliest adopters of digital pathology, employing it throughout the full spectrum of histopathology learning from undergraduate and post graduate education through to continuous professional development (CPD) and external quality assurance (EQA).

Traditional education using light microscopes and glass slides has many challenges, including access to slides and variable course content, which can be overcome with the use of digital pathology. These include:

  • Standardization of course material: With digital pathology, each participant sees the exact same content, as opposed to similar slides cut from the same tissue block, which may or may not exhibit the same morphological and biomarker expression patterns. Standardization of the content ensures that each participant has the same learning opportunities and quality of education. In addition, digital pathology facilitates the inclusion of rare cases in course material as only one digital copy of the slide is required, compared to multiple glass slides for a standard class size.
  • Improved Accessibility: Digital pathology facilitates greater access to tissue and slide-based material outside of the laboratory and traditional tutorial times. Users can access their digital course content via the internet on a standard web-browser, via personal computer, tablet, or smartphone devices, giving them the ability to view slides anytime, anywhere. The use of digital pathology to support CPD and EQA schemes helps to reduce circulation turnaround time and costs, as the slides no longer have to be physically shipped from one site to the other, but rather can be efficiently shared with multiple locations simultaneously.
  • Improved Learning: Moving from a physical to a digital environment for histopathology education offers many benefits over traditional light microscopy and glass slide teaching methods. Users can view multiple digital slides simultaneously, aligning them side-by-side for improved comparison between different tissue sections and immunohistochemistry (IHC) markers (Figure 6).
Figure 6: Digital pathology enables multiple digital slides to be viewed simultaneously, aligning them side-by-side for improved comparison between different tissue sections and IHC markers.

Educators can annotate significant regions of interest, right down to the cellular and sub-cellular level, which cannot be done readily with glass slides (Figure 7). And with specialized digital pathology educational software applications, questions and tutorials can be embedded into the digital slides, providing contextual information and direct links to tissue or cellular features referenced in the questions.

Figure 7: Digital slides are often used by educators for histology training. Utilizing digital slides and software applications, it is possible to annotate significant regions of interest.

For Research Use Only. Not for use in diagnostic procedures.
The clinical use claims described in the information supplied have not been cleared or approved by the U.S. FDA or are not available in the United States.
This reference document is presented as a service to health care professionals by Leica Biosystems and has been compiled from available literature. Although every effort has been made to report faithfully the information, Leica Biosystems cannot be held responsible for the correctness. This document is not intended to be, and should not be construed as medical advice. For any use, the product information guides, inserts and operation manuals of the various drugs and devices should be consulted. Leica Biosystems and the editors disclaim any liability arising directly or indirectly from the use of drugs, devices, techniques or procedures described in this reference document.

Want us to feature your writing?

We are looking for more great writers to feature here. Send us a submission and we'll be in touch!

Send your Writing!

Like what you see?

Get more Knowledge Pathway content like this delivered directly to your inbox. Unsubscribe at any time.