Skip to main content

Was ist grün?

April Schrank-Hacker , Ed.D., MSOD, CG(ASCP)CM
Lawrence Patton , BS Biology, HT, Advanced Technical Lead at Leica Biosystems

Grün ist längst nicht mehr nur eine Farbe, sondern ein Symbol. Wofür es steht, da gibt es ganz unterschiedliche Meinungen. Vielleicht können wir uns darauf einigen, dass „grün“ in der Regel Prozesse beschreibt, die unsere natürlichen Ressourcen schonen, die Umwelt schützen und bei deren Planung auch zukünftige Folgen berücksichtigt werden. Bezüglich der Auswirkungen betrachtet man dabei in der Regel die drei Säulen der Nachhaltigkeit: Umwelt, Wirtschaft und Soziales.

Erhalten Sie neueste Informationen aus dem Knowledge Pathway direkt in Ihr Postfach.
Wenn Sie sich dieses Schulungswebinar aus unserer monatlichen Reihe angesehen haben und dessen Anerkennung als Weiterbildung seitens der Sie zertifizierenden Organisation beantragen möchten, füllen Sie bitte das Formular aus, um Ihrem Protokoll die entsprechenden Weiterbildungspunkte gemäß Ihren eigenen Angaben hinzuzufügen.

Nachhaltigkeit – Warum ist sie so wichtig?

„Alles, was wir für unser Überleben und unser Wohlbefinden brauchen, hängt direkt oder indirekt von unserer natürlichen Umgebung ab. Nachhaltigkeit anzustreben bedeutet, die Bedingungen zu schaffen und zu erhalten, unter denen Mensch und Natur in produktiver Harmonie existieren können, um gegenwärtige und zukünftige Generationen zu unterstützen.“1 Nachhaltigkeit beruht auf einem ausgeprägten Sinn für Verantwortung und Gerechtigkeit, aber auch auf den notwendigen Fähigkeiten, die Folgen für uns Menschen, für unseren Planeten und nicht zuletzt die Wirtschaft zu minimieren.

Wie können wir Nachhaltigkeit und Histologie zusammenbringen?

Die Praxis der Nachhaltigkeit im histologischen Labor lässt sich in vier Paradigmen beschreiben: Minimierung der Belastung der Erde, Aufrechterhaltung des Wohlbefindens ihrer Bewohner, Senkung von Kosten- und Arbeitsaufwand für die Abfallentsorgung im Labor und Implementierung neuer, verbesserter Prozesse in unsere tägliche Arbeit. Wenn wir die Bereitschaft unserer Gemeinschaft verkörpern wollen, die natürlichen und wirtschaftlichen Ressourcen der Umwelt zu schützen und zu erhalten, müssen wir uns aber zunächst der Folgen unseres Tuns bewusst werden.

Welche Maßnahmen können wir ergreifen, um ein Labor „grüner“ zu gestalten?

  • Recycling
  • Wasserschutz und Wassersparen
  • Einsatz erneuerbarer oder energieeffizienter Produkte
  • Effiziente Prozesse
  • Weiterbildung

Bewusstseinsschaffung im Labor: Weg zur grünen Histologie

Dr. Donella Meadows, Umweltwissenschaftlerin und Vordenkerin für Nachhaltigkeit, nutzt die Perspektive des Systemdenkens, um Zusammenhänge innerhalb von komplexeren Strukturen zu identifizieren.2 Erst die Analyse des Gesamtbildes, des größeren Ganzen, zeigt, welche Faktoren die größte Bedeutung haben und gemessen werden sollten. Dr. Meadows erklärt: „Indikatoren ergeben sich aus Werten – wir messen, was uns wichtig ist – und sie schaffen Werte, denn uns ist wichtig, was wir messen.“3. Ein Histologielabor ist ein komplexes System, in dem jeder Schritt des Prozesses einen Einfluss auf die anderen hat und von diesen beeinflusst wird. Indikatoren fungieren hier als Wegweiser, wenn Entscheidungen getroffen und Maßnahmen vorbereitet werden wollen.3

Um einen Fahrplan für die Schaffung grüner Histologielabore zu entwickeln und Nachhaltigkeitsziele festzulegen, müssen neue Arten von Informationen gesammelt und ausgetauscht werden.

Image
csm_Define_Green_Team_Image_e5cededcc4

Über sogenannte Leistungskennzahlen oder KPI (aus dem Englischen für key performance indicators) lassen sich Veränderungen hin zur Nachhaltigkeit bewerten, planen, implementieren, messen und überwachen. Wichtige KPI für histologische Labore betreffen Energie, Wasser, Versorgung und Abfall. Die Fähigkeit, das Bewusstsein für aktuelle, die Ressourcen erschöpfende Praktiken zu schärfen, bereitet den Weg zu neuen Ansätzen, die auf Vermeidung, Wiederverwertung und Recycling ausgerichtet sind. „Wir müssen die Risiken für die menschliche Gesundheit und das Ökosystem erkennen, verstehen und regulieren, wenn wir unsere Lebensqualität erhalten oder gar verbessern wollen.“4

Wie lassen sich im Histologielabor Möglichkeiten zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit finden?

Schauen Sie aus einer „grünen Perspektive“ auf den gesamten histologischen Prozess, um Ressourcen zu identifizieren, mit denen sich die Umweltbelastung vermindern lässt. Betrachten Sie dabei unter anderem folgende Bereiche:

  • Labor als physischer Raum
  • Zuschneiden
  • Gewebeinfiltration
  • Einbettung
  • Mikrotomie
  • Färbung
  • Archivierung und Speicherung

Laden Sie jetzt weiteres Material zur grünen Histologie herunter, machen Sie sich mit Fallstudien vertraut und erhalten Sie eine Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung zur Bewertung Ihres Labors.

Referenzen

  1. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Learn About Sustainability. 2021, https://www.epa.gov/sustainability/learn-about-sustainability; March 5, 2021.
  2. Meadows DH. Thinking in Systems: A Primer. London: Earthscan, 2009.
  3. Meadows, DH. Indicators and Information Systems for Sustainable Development. Hartland: The Sustainability Institute; 1998.
  4. Fiksel J, Eason T, Fredrickson H.  A Framework for Sustainability Indicators at EPA. EPA/600/R/12/687. Washington: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 2013.

Die Inhalte des Knowledge Pathway von Leica Biosystems unterliegen den Nutzungsbedingungen der Website von Leica Biosystems, die hier eingesehen werden können: Rechtlicher Hinweis. Der Inhalt, einschließlich der Webinare, Schulungspräsentationen und ähnlicher Materialien, soll allgemeine Informationen zu bestimmten Themen liefern, die für medizinische Fachkräfte von Interesse sind. Er soll explizit nicht der medizinischen, behördlichen oder rechtlichen Beratung dienen und kann diese auch nicht ersetzen. Die Ansichten und Meinungen, die in Inhalten Dritter zum Ausdruck gebracht werden, spiegeln die persönlichen Auffassungen der Sprecher/Autoren wider und decken sich nicht notwendigerweise mit denen von Leica Biosystems, seinen Mitarbeitern oder Vertretern. Jegliche in den Inhalten enthaltene Links, die auf Quellen oder Inhalte Dritter verweisen, werden lediglich aus Gründen Ihrer Annehmlichkeit zur Verfügung gestellt.

Vor dem Gebrauch sollten die Produktinformationen, Beilagen und Bedienungsanleitungen der jeweiligen Medikamente und Geräte konsultiert werden.

Copyright © 2022 Leica Biosystems als Teil der Leica Microsystems, Inc. und Partnerunternehmen von Leica Biosystems. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. LEICA und das Leica Logo sind eingetragene Warenzeichen der Leica Microsystems IR GmbH.

About the presenters

April Schrank-Hacker, Ed.D., MSOD, CG(ASCP)CM

April Schrank‐Hacker, Ed.D., Principal, Content & Evidence at Leica Biosystems is a clinical laboratory specialist in Cytogenetics having over 20 years of experience in technological, research, innovation and laboratory management. April earned her BS in Clinical Laboratory Sciences with a specialization in Cytogenetics from Thomas Jefferson University, and is certified in cytogenetics through ASCP with the designation CG(ASCP) CM. Her Master’s degree was earned from the University of Pennsylvania in Organizational Dynamics (MSOD) with dual certifications in Organizational Development and Change Studies and Organizational Leadership. April earned her Doctoral degree in Organizational Leadership, where she was a Distinguished Research Fellowship scholar for her work on building high performing leadership and teams in domains of chaos and complexity and has co‐authored over 30 peer reviewed publications and posters.

Lawrence Patton, BS Biology, HT, Advanced Technical Lead at Leica Biosystems

Lawrence Patton is an Advanced Technical Lead at Leica Biosystems and brings over 30 years of cancer diagnostic industry experience to his role. Mr Patton began his career in the histology lab spending over 10 years at Dianon/Labcorp in Connecticut. In 2008 he joined the Technical Assistance Center (TAC) in Illinois as an Application Specialist & Trainer for Leica Biosystems.

While working in TAC, Mr Patton trained and provided technical advice on advanced staining and core histology to over 1,000 clients in five years. Additionally, he ushered in an industry-first when he researched the topic of “Green Histology” and presented at a variety of histology conferences and symposiums nationwide.

Menu
Warning! You won't be able to use the quotation basket until you enable cookies in your Web browser.
Warning! Your Web browser is no longer supported. Please upgrade to a modern browser.

What is Green?

There are as many ideas about being "Green" as there are hues. Simply stated, it is anything that conserves our natural resources while protecting the environment, taking a long view of actions today that impact the future. Impacts are often viewed through the lens commonly referred to as the three pillars of sustainability: environmental, economic, and social.

Get Knowledge Pathway updates delivered directly to your inbox.

If you have viewed this educational webinar, training or tutorial on Knowledge Pathway and would like to apply for continuing education credits with your certifying organization, please download the form to assist you in adding self-reported educational credits to your transcript.

Apply for self-reported educational credits

Sustainability - Why is it Important?

"Everything that we need for our survival and well-being depends, either directly or indirectly, on our natural environment. To pursue sustainability is to create and maintain the conditions under which humans and nature can exist in productive harmony to support present and future generations."1 Sustainability are the "abilities"- responsibility, capability, and equitability to minimize the impact on our people, planet, and economics.

How Can We Practice Sustainability in Histology?

Practicing sustainability in the histology laboratory shapes paradigms in four fundamental ways: minimizing our impact on the Earth, maintaining our well-being, decreasing the cost of waste management in the laboratory, and discovering new processes affecting our daily work. By embodying our community's determination to protect and preserve the environment's natural and economic resources, we become aware of our impacts.

What Types of Actions Can We Take to Make a Laboratory "Green"?

  • Recycling
  • Water conservation
  • Renewable or energy-efficient products
  • Efficient processes
  • Education

How Laboratories become Aware of Impacts: Greening Histology

Dr. Donella Meadows, an environmental scientist and thought leader on sustainability, used a system thinking perspective to identify interdependencies within systems.2 Evaluating the interwoven picture of the "greater whole" clarifies the greatest significance, indicating what to measure. Dr. Meadows states, "Indicators arise from values (we measure what we care about), and they create values (we care about what we measure)"3. A histology laboratory is a complex system where each step of the process influences and impacts the other parts. Information points, or indicators, act as guideposts when making decisions and planning our actions.3

New types of information must be gathered and shared when setting sustainability goals while developing a roadmap for creating green histology laboratories.

Key Performance Indicators (KPI) determine how to evaluate, plan, implement, measure, and monitor sustainability changes. Some KPIs for the histology laboratory are energy, water, supply, and waste. The ability to raise awareness of current practices that deplete resources creates opportunities for new ways of reducing, reusing, and recycling throughout the histology laboratory. "We must identify and understand the risks to human health and the ecosystem to enjoy a high-quality life."4

How Can the Histology Laboratory be Assessed?

Use a "greening perspective" throughout the histology diagnostic pathway to find minimal impact resources that support the environment in:

  • Physical Space
  • Grossing
  • Processing
  • Embedding
  • Microtomy
  • Staining
  • Archiving and storage

Download the Green Histology educational resource now for case study examples and a step-by-step guide for assessing your laboratory.

References

  1. Learn About Sustainability. Environmental Protection Agency. Accessed 05March2021. https://www.epa.gov/sustainability/learn-about-sustainability
  2. Wright, Diana, and Donella H. Meadows. Thinking in Systems: A Primer. Earthscan, 2009.
  3. Meadows, D. 1998. Indicators and Information Systems for Sustainable Development. The Sustainability Institute, Hartland VT, USA. http://donellameadows.org/wp-content/userfiles/IndicatorsInformation.pdf
  4. Environmental Protection Agency. A Framework for Sustainability Indicators at EPA. EPA/600/R/12/687. October 2012. www.epa.gov/ord

Leica Biosystems Knowledge Pathway content is subject to the Leica Biosystems website terms of use, available at: Legal Notice. The content, including webinars, training presentations and related materials is intended to provide general information regarding particular subjects of interest to health care professionals and is not intended to be, and should not be construed as, medical, regulatory or legal advice. The views and opinions expressed in any third-party content reflect the personal views and opinions of the speaker(s)/author(s) and do not necessarily represent or reflect the views or opinions of Leica Biosystems, its employees or agents. Any links contained in the content which provides access to third party resources or content is provided for convenience only.

For the use of any product, the applicable product documentation, including information guides, inserts and operation manuals should be consulted. Leica Biosystems and the editors hereby disclaim any liability arising directly or indirectly from the use of the content, including from any drugs, devices, techniques or procedures described in the content.

Copyright © 2021 Leica Biosystems division of Leica Microsystems, Inc. and its Leica Biosystems affiliates. All rights reserved. LEICA and the Leica Logo are registered trademarks of Leica Microsystems IR GmbH.

Want us to feature your writing?

We are looking for more great writers to feature here. Send us a submission and we'll be in touch!

Send your Writing!

Like what you see?

Get more Knowledge Pathway content like this delivered directly to your inbox. Unsubscribe at any time.